The Holy Rosary



The word Rosary means “Crown of Roses”. Our Lady has revealed to several
people that each time they say a Hail Mary they are giving her a beautiful
rose and that each complete Rosary makes her a crown of roses. The rose
is the queen of flowers, and so the Rosary is the rose of all devotions
and it is therefore the most important one. The Holy Rosary is considered
a perfect prayer because within it lies the awesome story of our salvation.
With the Rosary in fact we meditate the mysteries of joy, of sorrow
and the glory of Jesus and Mary. It’s a simple prayer, humble so much
like Mary. It’s a prayer we can all say together with Her, the Mother
of God. With the Hail Mary we invite Her to pray for us. Our Lady always
grants our request. She joins Her prayer to ours. Therefore it becomes
ever more useful, because what Mary asks She always receives, Jesus
can never say no to whatever His Mother asks for. In every apparition,
the heavenly Mother has invited us to say the Rosary as a powerful weapon against evil, to bring us to true peace. With your prayer
made together with Your heavenly Mother, you can obtain the great gift
of bringing about a change of hearts and conversion. Each day, through
prayer you can drive away from yourselves and from your homeland many
dangers and many evils.
It can seem a repetitive prayer but instead it is like two sweethearts
who many times say one another the words: “I love you”…
The Blessed Holy Father John Paul
II on October 16th, 2002 with the Apostolic Letter Rosarium
Virginis Mariae on the Most Holy Rosary has added 5 new
mysteries of the Rosary: The
Mysteries of the Light.

The whole Rosary is composed
of twenty decades. Each decade is recited in honor of a mystery
in Our Lord’s Life and that of His Blessed Mother.

It is customary to recite
five decades at a time while meditating on one set of mysteries.

The decades may be separated,
if the entire chaplet is completed on the same day.

Each Mystery may be meditate “bead by bead” for every Hail Mary of the decade.

The Mysteries
of the Rosary
JOYFUL on Monday and Saturday.

LIGHT on Thursday

SORROWFUL on Tuesday and Friday.

GLORIOUS on Wednesday and Sunday.


While holding the crucifix make
the Sign of the Cross. and
then recite the Apostles Creed


Recite the Our
on the first large bead.


Recite a Hail
for an increase of faith, hope and charity on each
of the three small beads.


Recite the Glory
Be to the Father
on the next large bead.


Recite the Fatima
“O my Jesus” on the large bead.


Recall the first Rosary Mystery and recite the Our Father on the large bead.


On each of the adjacent ten small
beads (also refered to as a decade) recite a Hail Mary while
reflecting on the mystery.


On the next large bead, recite
the Glory Be to the Father, the Fatima prayer.


Each succeeding decade is prayed
in a similar manner by recalling the appropriate mystery,
reciting the Our Father, ten Hail Marys while reflecting on the
mystery, the Glory Be to
the Father, and the Fatima prayer.


When the fifth mystery is completed,
the Rosary is Customarily concluded with the Hail
Holy Queen
, and the Sign of the Cross.

point cursor on beads to see prayers


Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply